Evening Classes Canceled, Campus Closure

North Seattle College to Close at 5:30 p.m. on Monday Feb. 27 due to Weather

Effective from Mon 27-Feb-2017 4:35pm until Tue 28-Feb-2017 4:35pm.

 

Waivers & Discounts

WA State Employee Tuition Waiver
Higher Education Employees
Veteran Tuition Waivers
Active Duty Military/Washington National Guard
Senior Waiver
Children of Deceased or Disabled Law Enforcement Officers and Firefighters
Non-Resident Elearning Tuition Rate Discount

WA State Employee Tuition Waiver

Permanent Washington state employees employed 50 percent full-time equivalency (FTE) may register on a space-available basis using the State Tuition Waiver. Students attempting to use the waiver will go to class on the first day of the class. Using the standard registration form, obtain instructor’s signature if space is available (Including all waitlisted students intending to enroll) and submit it to the Admissions/Registration Office beginning the sixth day (fifth day for summer) of the quarter through the tenth day (eighth day for summer) of the quarter. The cost is $20 for the first six credits and is non-refundable. Students are responsible for any additional charges such as class fees, books, photo ID, transportation fee, Universal Technology fee, etc. Please note the following stipulations:

  • This waiver cannot be used for Continuing Education, WAOL classes or high demand programs that include all courses within any Allied Health program at North.

  • Employees in the K-12 system are eligible for the Washington State Employee Waiver with verification that they are teachers or certificated instructional staff employed at public common and vocational schools, holding or seeking a valid endorsement and assignment in a state-identified shortage area.

  • A new certification of employment form must be presented each quarter.

  • Students enrolled in over 6 credits will be charged at the regular tuition rate for all credits in excess of 6.

  • Students who enroll prior to the sixth day of the quarter (fifth for summer) will forfeit their waiver eligibility.

    Please contact the Admissions/Registration Office to request a Certification of Employment Form, or download one from the district website.

Higher Education Employees—Employed at 50 Percent or More

SCD will waive 100 percent of the nonresident Building, Service & Activity, and Operating fee for students, their spouse and dependants that are employed half-time or more at a public higher education institution. Students must reside in the state.

Veteran Tuition Waivers

Eligible veterans and National Guard members who have been deployed or been activated in support of an operation may be eligible for limited tuition waivers.

A child and the spouse or surviving spouse of an eligible veteran or national guard member who became totally disabled or who is determined by the federal government to be a prisoner of war or missing in action or who lost his or her life while engaged in active federal military or naval service may be eligible for a limited tuition waiver.

Visit the Veterans Services Office to determine eligibility. Students who wish to use the waiver should see the veteran's coordinator prior to the tenth day of the quarter.

Active Duty Military/Washington National Guard

Active duty military stationed in Washington, their spouses and dependents; Washington National Guard members, spouses or dependents, if residence is Washington, are eligible for resident tuition rate. Students must provide military documentation of active duty status in Washington.

Senior Waiver

Washington state resident seniors, 60+ years, can enroll in two state-funded classes for audit or credit on a space available basis. Some exceptions do apply. Students attempting to use the waiver will go to class on the first day of the class. Using the standard registration form, obtain instructor’s signature if space is available (Including all waitlisted students intending to enroll) and submit it to the Admissions/Registration Office beginning the sixth day (fifth day for summer) of the quarter through the tenth day (eighth day for summer) of the quarter. Cost is $5 per class. This rate is applicable only for two state-funded classes. Regular tuition will be charged for more than two classes. Students are responsible for any additional charges such as class fees, books, photo ID, transportation fee, Universal Technology fee, etc. (Continuing Education, WAOL, high demand programs that include all courses within any Allied Health program at North, ESL courses and financial aid recipients are not eligible for this program.) Students who enroll prior to the sixth day of the quarter (fifth for summer) will forfeit their waiver eligibility. This waiver is not available to students who plan to use the course credits gained thereby for increasing credentials or salary schedule increases.

Children of Deceased or Disabled Law Enforcement Officer or Firefighters

Children of any law enforcement officer or firefighter who lost his or her life or became totally disabled in the line of duty while employed by any public law enforcement agency or full time or volunteer fire department in this state: PROVIDED that such persons may receive the waiver only if they begin their course of study at a community college within 10 years of their graduation from high school. Students must submit official documentation to the Admissions/Registration Office to receive the waiver.

Non-Resident Elearning Tuition Rate Discount

This is a reduced rate available only to non-resident students enrolled in Elearning classes. Further details

Tuition & Fees Contacts

NSC Cashier's Office:
(206) 934-3627

Office Hours:

M, W, TH, F    8:00am – 4:30pm
Tuesday          8:00am – 6:30pm

Location:

CC2455D ()
 

Classes | Map | People | Directory | Calendar

Login

Need a NetID?

Students: Set one up now!

Employees: See your supervisor.