Student Learning Center Employment

Applying to be a Tutor in the Student Learning Center

Interested in working as a tutor or tutor navigator in the Student Learning Center? Please examine the following SLC job descriptions to see if helping students improve their learning through one-on-one and group tutoring sessions would be a good fit.

One-on-one tutor job description:

Tutor navigator job description:

Application Process

In order to apply, please submit the following four items to the appropriate SLC coordinator below.

  • A cover letter explaining your interest in the position
  • A resume or SLC tutor application highlighting skills appropriate for the job
  • A transcript showing that you received a 3.0 or above in the subject that you want to tutor
  • A reference from someone who can speak to your competence in the subject area and level of professionalism.
    • Students need to provide a reference from a faculty member at the college who can endorse your ability to tutor the subject. Non- students should provide a reference who can speak to your professionalism.

SLC Hiring Contacts

Please submit your application to the appropriate SLC coordinator below.


Professional and Technical Learning Center (PAT_LC)

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Computer Software, Information Technology, and Medical Terminology

PAT_LC Coordinators:
Daniel Tarker – SLC Director
Daniel.Tarker@seattlecolleges.edu


Biology and Chemistry Lab

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, and Human Anatomy
Bio/Chem Lab Coordinator:
Heidi Iverson – Math and Science Division
Heidi.Iverson@seattlecolleges.edu


Biology Tutor Navigators

Subject: Bio. 160
Biology Department Coordinator
Katie Barndt
Katie.Barndt@seattlecolleges.edu


Math and Science Learning Center

Subjects: Math, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Physics, and Statistics.
MSLC Coordinators:
Paul Kurose – Math Lab Coordinator for Math & Science Division
Paul.Kurose@seattlecolleges.edu

Ellen Yanny – Assistant Math Lab Coordinator
Ellen.Yanny@seattlecolleges.edu


Page One Writing & Language Center

Subjects: English & ESL
Page One Coordinators:
Jeff Janosik - Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Division
Jeff.Janosik@seattlecolleges.edu

Christine Unutzer-girardet- Basic and Transitional Studies Division
Christine.Unutzer-Girardet@seattlecolleges.edu


World Languages

Subjects: American Sign Language, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, and Spanish.
World Languages Coordinator:
Cristina Zahajko - Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Division
Cristina.Zahajko@seattlecolleges.edu


Greeters and General Computer Tutors

SLC Program Coordinator
Andrea Baumgartel - Student Learning Center
Andrea.Baumgartel@seattlecolleges.edu